Should I be Celebrating Halloween As a christian?

I have asked myself this question time and time again.

man in black and white sweater sitting on chair
I thought about it and even asked around

I came across a few scriptures the most striking one being 1Thessolonians 5 : 22 ” Abstain from all appearance of evil” it really rattled me.

After a little research here is what I discovered about Halloween.

Halloween has its origins from an occult. During this time it was believed that spirits of the dead came back to earth where humans were. The spirits were associated with causing havoc while the Celts and druids who celebrated what is now known as Halloween appreciated the spirits of the dead because they somehow helped them with their visions and prophecies.

And so the Druids made huge sacrifices to Celtic gods and wore costumes which we have now adapted as Halloween costumes. Whew ! shocker right?

Well now you know you can read more about the origins of Halloween on the web and remember our blueprint for living which Jesus Christ gave us has told us to ” abstain from all appearance of evil” 1 Thess 5:22

Do let me know what you think about it in the comments section.

Leave a comment